
Oppo F29 Pro 5G vs Samsung Galaxy A55: Which to Buy
Most phone buyers don’t think about water-resistance ratings until the day a spilled coffee decides their next upgrade. The OPPO F29 Pro 5G, launched in India in March 2025, leads with an IP69 rating and a 6,000 mAh battery inside a 180-gram frame (OPPO India (official listing)). OPPO is asking ₹27,999 for this phone, and the real question is where it falls short. The answer comes from comparing it with the Galaxy A55 and OPPO’s own F and A series.
Price starts at: ₹27,999 (8GB+128GB) ·
Battery: 6000 mAh ·
Display: 6.7-inch ·
Chipset: Dimensity 7300 ·
Water resistance: IP69-rated ·
OPPO India (official listing) ·
Ground Report (tech review)
Quick snapshot
- Battery and protection: 6,000 mAh with IP69 / IP68 / IP66 ratings (OPPO India (official listing))
- Price: ₹27,999 to ₹31,999 across three variants (OPPO India (official listing))
- Build: 180 g and 7.6 mm thin (OPPO India (official listing))
- Chipset and charging speed come from a single hands-on so far (Ground Report (tech review))
- Real-world battery life and camera quality lack long-term test data yet
- Software support duration is not disclosed on the official listing (OPPO India (official listing))
- : F29 Pro 5G launches in India (OPPO India (official listing)) (GSMArena (spec database))
- : Galaxy A55 arrived with IP67 and Exynos 1480 (GSMArena (spec database); GSMArena (review))
- Next: independent durability tests expected as review units spread (GSMArena (spec database))
- Watch for third-party battery rundowns to verify the 6,000 mAh promise (OPPO India (official listing))
- Samsung’s four-major-update pledge for the A55 sets the software bar (GSMArena (review))
- The ₹27,999 entry price may move once the first sales cycle ends (OPPO India (official listing))
Six numbers, one pattern: OPPO is selling endurance, not extravagance — everything official leads with battery, toughness, and a slim frame.
| Specification | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Official launch date | March 2025 | OPPO India (official listing) |
| Weight | 180 g | OPPO India (official listing) |
| Dimensions | 161.5 x 74.9 x 7.6 mm | OPPO India (official listing) |
| Operating system | Android 14 with ColorOS 14 | OPPO India (official listing) |
| Storage options | 128GB / 256GB UFS 3.1 | OPPO India (official listing) |
| Network | 5G (dual SIM) | OPPO India (official listing) |
What is the price of Oppo F29 Pro 5G?
OPPO priced the F29 Pro 5G to undercut the mid-range competition while loading up on durability hardware. The Indian lineup splits into three configurations, each sharing the same IP69-rated frame and 6,000 mAh battery (OPPO India (official listing)).
Price variants in India
- 8GB + 128GB — ₹27,999 (OPPO India (official listing))
- 8GB + 256GB — ₹29,999 (OPPO India (official listing))
- 12GB + 256GB — ₹31,999 (OPPO India (official listing))
Three price points, and they all buy the same phone in the same armour: the ₹4,000 climb from base to top is purely RAM and storage. For most buyers, the 8GB + 128GB version is enough; heavy multi-taskers who want a phone to last three years should take the 12GB model.
The base model’s ₹27,999 sticker sits below the Galaxy A55’s launch pricing in the UK (£439) and Australia (AU$699) (Tom’s Guide (review publication)), though regional taxes make a direct conversion meaningless. In India, the F29 Pro is clearly the affordable durable option.
Comparison with OPPO F29 5G pricing
- OPPO F29 5G (standard): starts around ₹24,999 (OPPO India (official listing))
- OPPO F29 Pro 5G: starts at ₹27,999 — ₹3,000 more for the IP69 frame and 6,000 mAh battery (OPPO India (official listing))
₹3,000 is a small toll for the phone OPPO is actually advertising. The Pro’s spec sheet carries the durability story — IP69 / IP68 / IP66 ratings, protection against 18 everyday liquids, a 360° armour body — while the standard F29 plays the value role in the lineup (OPPO India (official listing)).
The pattern: OPPO made the ₹3,000 gap small on purpose, so the Pro feels like the obvious upgrade rather than an expensive one.
The implication: the F29 Pro is priced to undercut the Galaxy A55 while adding durability features that justify the step up from the standard F29.
Is the Oppo F29 Pro 5G a good phone?
A “good phone” is shorthand for “good at the things I do daily.” On paper, the F29 Pro 5G is a mid-ranger with flagship-grade toughness; the trade-offs sit in the camera and the software promise.
Performance and battery life
- Chipset: MediaTek Dimensity 7300 Energy (Ground Report (tech review))
- Battery: 6,000 mAh (OPPO India (official listing))
- Display: 6.7-inch AMOLED with 120Hz refresh rate (OPPO India (official listing))
The Dimensity 7300 Energy is a mid-range chip tuned for efficiency, not benchmark bragging. That fits the phone’s character: a big battery, a 120Hz screen, and a design that values staying alive over setting records. Ground Report’s hands-on also reports 80W SuperVOOC wired charging, so the 6,000 mAh cell refills quickly when you do run it down (Ground Report (tech review)).
Real-world battery life still needs a proper long-term test. The 6,000 mAh number is official, but how the phone behaves under heavy 5G usage is unverified; in the meantime, the hardware math is the most reassuring part of this phone.
Camera capabilities
- Main sensor: 50MP (Ground Report (tech review))
- Secondary sensor: 2MP depth helper (Ground Report (tech review))
- Video: 1080p recording (OPPO India (official listing))
The camera is the F29 Pro’s most obvious compromise. A 50MP main sensor with a 2MP companion is fine for daylight snapshots, but it lacks the versatility of the Galaxy A55’s 12MP ultrawide and optical image stabilization (GSMArena (review)). Night photography and steady video are the first areas we’d test before recommending this phone to anyone who shoots a lot.
Durability and IP69 rating
OPPO’s loudest durability claims — 18-liquid protection, IP69 jet resistance, -35°C cold operation — all come from OPPO’s own marketing. The ratings are real on paper; independent torture tests haven’t been published yet.
OPPO India’s product page confirms IP69, IP68, and IP66 ratings, which cover high-pressure water jets, submersion, and dust — plus protection against 18 everyday liquids such as coffee, tea, and soft drinks (OPPO India (official listing)). OPPO also claims the phone keeps working at temperatures as low as -35°C for up to four hours (OPPO India (official listing)); that figure comes from OPPO’s own testing, not an independent lab.
The 360° armour body and drop-test certification round out the pitch (OPPO India (official listing)). At 7.6mm and 180g, this isn’t a chunky rugged handset — it’s a slim phone that quietly absorbed a rugged spec sheet.
Disadvantages and trust concerns
- No wireless charging listed by OPPO India (OPPO India (official listing))
- No microSD expansion mentioned on the official listing (OPPO India (official listing))
- No multi-year OS update promise published for the F29 Pro (OPPO India (official listing))
That last point is the biggest trust issue. Samsung pledges four major Android updates for the Galaxy A55 (GSMArena (review)); OPPO’s F29 Pro page lists Android 14 with ColorOS 14 but no equivalent commitment. For a buyer planning to keep the phone past two years, that silence matters more than any spec sheet number.
What this means: the F29 Pro 5G is a specialist, not an all-rounder — you buy it for the battery and the badge, and you accept a basic camera and an unproven update future.
The pattern: OPPO is targeting a specific buyer who values physical resilience over camera versatility.
Which is best, OPPO F29 or OPPO F29 Pro?
The F29 and F29 Pro share a family name, but they’re aimed at different budgets. The Pro is the phone OPPO markets; the F29 is the phone that gets you into the family for less.
Differences in processor and RAM
- F29 Pro 5G: Dimensity 7300 Energy chipset (Ground Report (tech review))
- F29 Pro 5G: RAM options up to 12GB (OPPO India (official listing))
- Standard F29 5G: the budget entry point in the series (OPPO India (official listing))
The Pro’s defining advantage is headroom. A 12GB RAM option at this price makes a real difference when apps stay open for days; the standard F29 is the sensible pick when the budget stops earlier. We don’t yet have reliable data on whether the two phones share the same chipset family, so the safer comparison is on RAM, price, and build.
Camera and battery comparison
- F29 Pro 5G: 50MP + 2MP rear cameras (Ground Report (tech review))
- F29 Pro 5G: 6,000 mAh battery (OPPO India (official listing))
- F29 Pro 5G: 80W SuperVOOC charging, per Ground Report (Ground Report (tech review))
The Pro takes the battery crown within the series, and the charging speed is the number reviewers keep quoting. Camera-wise, neither model is pitched as a photography flagship — this series is about staying powered and staying intact, not about winning lens comparisons.
Price gap analysis
The ₹3,000 gap between the F29 and the F29 Pro is small enough to count as an accident of pricing (OPPO India (official listing)) — and it buys the only specs OPPO actually advertises.
One table, one decision: the gap is the cost of the Pro’s durability package.
| Model | Starting price | What the extra money buys |
|---|---|---|
| OPPO F29 5G | ≈ ₹24,999 (OPPO India (official listing)) | Entry into the F series |
| OPPO F29 Pro 5G | ₹27,999 (OPPO India (official listing)) | IP69 frame, 6,000 mAh battery, up to 12GB RAM |
| Premium for the Pro | + ₹3,000 | Durability, battery, and RAM headroom |
₹3,000 is less than a standard pair of mid-range earbuds. The Pro earns that margin with the ratings and battery that actually appear in OPPO’s advertising, while the standard F29 stays closer to a conventional mid-range phone.
Which is better, OPPO A series or F series?
OPPO’s A and F series solve different problems. The A series keeps prices low for the mass market; the F series is where OPPO pushes design and toughness — and the F29 Pro shows how far apart the two have grown (OPPO India (official listing)).
Target audience and design philosophy
- A series: budget-first buyers; the line’s identity is value, not materials
- F series: durability-and-design showcase, as the F29 Pro’s armour body framing shows (OPPO India (official listing))
- F29 Pro example: IP69 rating and 6,000 mAh battery — specs A-series phones in this comparison don’t carry (OPPO India (official listing))
Design philosophy is the real difference. A-series buyers are told “this works and it’s cheap”; F-series buyers are told “this is built to survive.” The F29 Pro’s whole message is the armour, the liquids, and the cold — language you rarely see on an A-series launch.
Performance and features comparison
- F29 Pro 5G: Dimensity 7300 Energy chipset (Ground Report (tech review))
- F29 Pro 5G: 120Hz AMOLED display (OPPO India (official listing))
- F series generally gets faster chipsets than the A series, and the F29 Pro is that pattern in one phone
Put the F29 Pro next to a typical A-series phone and the differences show up in fluidity: a 120Hz panel, a faster chipset, and a higher RAM ceiling. The F series is OPPO’s answer to the complaint that budget phones feel slow within a year.
Price positioning
- F29 Pro 5G: ₹27,999 entry price (OPPO India (official listing))
- A series: sits in the lower price tiers of OPPO’s Indian lineup
Price is the clearest separator. Buyers who can stretch to ₹27,999 get the F29 Pro’s battery and durability package; buyers who can’t still get a competent OPPO phone in the A series, just without the armour-body pitch. The F series is the better long-term bet, and OPPO prices it accordingly.
Is Oppo better than Samsung?
Oppo versus Samsung usually comes down to Samsung’s software maturity against OPPO’s price aggression. The F29 Pro 5G shifts the terms: it attacks Samsung’s mid-range where the Galaxy A55 is weakest — durability and battery.
Build quality and durability
- F29 Pro 5G: IP69 / IP68 / IP66 ratings, 18-liquid protection (OPPO India (official listing))
- Galaxy A55: IP67 — 1 metre for 30 minutes (GSMArena (spec database))
- Galaxy A55: Gorilla Glass Victus+ front, aluminum frame (GSMArena (spec database))
On paper, OPPO wins the water contest decisively. IP69 covers high-pressure jets that IP67 doesn’t; the A55 is rated for a 1-metre dunk, not a jet blast. Samsung fights back with materials — Victus+ glass and an aluminum frame feel more premium in hand — while OPPO counters with a lighter 180g body (GSMArena (spec database)) and its drop-test story (OPPO India (official listing)).
Software experience and updates
Samsung promises four major Android updates for the Galaxy A55 (GSMArena (review)); OPPO hasn’t matched that publicly for the F29 Pro. Update policy is a spec — it decides how fast your phone ages.
- Galaxy A55: four major Android updates (GSMArena (review))
- F29 Pro 5G: Android 14 with ColorOS 14, no published multi-year pledge (OPPO India (official listing))
- One UI vs ColorOS: preference is subjective; update length is a hard number
This is Samsung’s real lead. A Galaxy A55 bought today will see more Android versions than an F29 Pro, based on what each company currently promises. If you keep phones for two years, the F29 Pro is fine; if you keep them for three or four, Samsung’s pledge is worth real money.
Camera performance
- Galaxy A55: 50MP main with OIS, 12MP ultrawide, 5MP macro (GSMArena (review))
- F29 Pro 5G: 50MP main, 2MP secondary (Ground Report (tech review))
- OIS is the difference-maker for low-light and video stability
Samsung’s camera system is more versatile on paper: optical stabilization is rare at this price, and the ultrawide makes everyday photos far more flexible. The F29 Pro’s main sensor can produce good daylight shots, but the 2MP companion is a depth helper, not a creative tool. For photography, the A55 wins.
Value for money
- F29 Pro 5G: ₹27,999 in India (OPPO India (official listing))
- Galaxy A55: launched at £439 in the UK and AU$699 in Australia (Tom’s Guide (review publication))
- Galaxy A55: 5,000 mAh battery and 25W charging (GSMArena (review))
Value depends on what you’re buying. The F29 Pro costs less, carries a bigger battery (6,000 vs 5,000 mAh), charges faster (80W reported vs 25W), and survives more water. The A55 costs more and gives you a better camera system and a longer software runway.
The verdict for today: OPPO is better if your priority is a phone that survives real life; Samsung is better if you’re buying for the camera and the next four years of software.
What this means: the choice hinges on whether you prioritize hardware protection or software longevity.
Oppo F29 Pro 5G vs Samsung Galaxy A55: head-to-head
Five rounds, one clear split: the F29 Pro takes toughness, battery, and price; the A55 takes camera and software longevity.
| Round | OPPO F29 Pro 5G | Samsung Galaxy A55 | Winner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Water & dust rating | IP69 / IP68 / IP66 (OPPO India (official listing)) | IP67, 1m for 30 min (GSMArena (spec database)) | OPPO |
| Battery | 6,000 mAh (OPPO India (official listing)) | 5,000 mAh (GSMArena (review)) | OPPO |
| Charging | 80W SuperVOOC reported (Ground Report (tech review)) | 25W wired (GSMArena (review)) | OPPO |
| Camera system | 50MP + 2MP (Ground Report (tech review)) | 50MP OIS + 12MP ultrawide + 5MP macro (GSMArena (review)) | Samsung |
| Software updates | No multi-year pledge listed (OPPO India (official listing)) | 4 major Android updates (GSMArena (review)) | Samsung |
| Weight | 180 g (OPPO India (official listing)) | 213 g (GSMArena (spec database)) | OPPO |
The split is unusually clean. OPPO sells survival; Samsung sells longevity — in software and camera hardware. Your pick depends on which definition of “keep it for years” you actually mean.
Oppo F29 Pro 5G: full specifications
One spec sheet, one story: every headline number points to endurance — battery, rating, refresh rate — while the camera stays deliberately basic.
| Specification | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Display | 6.7-inch AMOLED, 120Hz | OPPO India (official listing) |
| Chipset | MediaTek Dimensity 7300 Energy | Ground Report (tech review) |
| Rear camera | 50MP + 2MP | Ground Report (tech review) |
| Battery | 6,000 mAh | OPPO India (official listing) |
| Wired charging | 80W SuperVOOC (reported) | Ground Report (tech review) |
| Water resistance | IP69 / IP68 / IP66 | OPPO India (official listing) |
| Weight | 180 g | OPPO India (official listing) |
| Dimensions | 161.5 x 74.9 x 7.6 mm | OPPO India (official listing) |
| Operating system | Android 14, ColorOS 14 | OPPO India (official listing) |
| Storage | 128GB / 256GB UFS 3.1 | OPPO India (official listing) |
| Network | 5G, dual SIM | OPPO India (official listing) |
| Launch date | March 2025 | OPPO India (official listing) |
Nothing on this sheet is exotic; the trick is the combination. A 6,000 mAh battery with an IP69 rating in a 180g body is a spec pairing you rarely see outside rugged devices — and OPPO put it in a normal-looking phone.
Why this matters: you’re paying for the two specs you’ll feel daily — battery life and water peace of mind — not for a camera array you’ll use once.
Oppo F29 Pro 5G: upsides and downsides
Upsides
- IP69 / IP68 / IP66 durability with 18-liquid protection (OPPO India (official listing))
- 6,000 mAh battery with reported 80W SuperVOOC charging (OPPO India (official listing); Ground Report (tech review))
- 180g weight — lighter than the 213g Galaxy A55 (OPPO India (official listing); GSMArena (spec database))
- ₹27,999 entry price undercuts the A55’s launch pricing in the UK and Australia (OPPO India (official listing); Tom’s Guide (review publication))
Downsides
- 2MP secondary camera limits creative versatility (Ground Report (tech review))
- No multi-year software update pledge published (OPPO India (official listing))
- No wireless charging or microSD expansion listed (OPPO India (official listing))
- Durability claims (cold, drops, jets) await independent verification — OPPO’s marketing is the only test so far (OPPO India (official listing))
The trade-off is a phone that’s brilliant at being durable and average at everything else — for anyone who has already broken a phone, that’s a fair exchange.
What’s clear and what’s still unclear
Separating verified specs from marketing claims matters more for this phone than for most. Here’s where the evidence stands.
Confirmed facts
- Prices: ₹27,999 to ₹31,999 across three variants (OPPO India (official listing))
- Battery and protection: 6,000 mAh, IP69 / IP68 / IP66 (OPPO India (official listing))
- Build: 180 g, 161.5 x 74.9 x 7.6 mm (OPPO India (official listing))
What’s unclear
- Chipset and 80W charging come from a single secondary review (Ground Report (tech review))
- Real-world battery life and camera quality have no long-term test data yet
- Software update duration is not disclosed by OPPO India (OPPO India (official listing))
- -35°C cold-operation claim is OPPO’s own, not an independent lab result (OPPO India (official listing))
What’s on the confirmed list — price, battery, water rating — decides the purchase; what’s on the unclear list decides whether you’ll still love the phone in year three.
What OPPO and reviewers are saying
Two quotes capture the contrast: OPPO selling survival, reviewers praising Samsung’s balance.
“A durable champion.”
— OPPO India (official listing), launch messaging
“A great cheap phone all-rounder.”
— Tom’s Guide (review publication), Galaxy A55 review
The F29 Pro doesn’t yet have the long-form review bench the A55 has accumulated, so the launch quote is doing more work than it should. That’s the nature of a new phone: marketing leads, testing follows.
The takeaway
The OPPO F29 Pro 5G is not a phone for everyone — it’s for anyone who has already killed a phone with water, a drop, or a dead battery by 3pm. At ₹27,999 (OPPO India (official listing)) it undercuts the Galaxy A55’s launch pricing in the UK and Australia (Tom’s Guide (review publication)) while beating it on water resistance and battery capacity (GSMArena (spec database)); the trade-off is a thinner camera system and an unproven update commitment. For the Indian buyer who wants a mid-ranger that survives real life, the choice is straightforward: take the F29 Pro’s durability-first value, or pay Samsung’s premium for software support and camera versatility.
Frequently asked questions
Does the Oppo F29 Pro 5G support wireless charging?
No. OPPO India’s spec sheet highlights SuperVOOC wired charging but doesn’t list wireless charging support (OPPO India (official listing)). The 6,000 mAh battery (OPPO India (official listing)) makes the missing wireless pad easier to live with.
Is the Oppo F29 Pro 5G good for gaming?
For casual and mid-weight games, yes. The Dimensity 7300 Energy chipset (Ground Report (tech review)) and 120Hz AMOLED display keep things smooth, and the 6,000 mAh battery stretches sessions. Dedicated gaming phones still offer more sustained peak performance for hardcore titles.
Does the Oppo F29 Pro 5G have a headphone jack?
OPPO India’s product page doesn’t list a 3.5mm headphone jack (OPPO India (official listing)), so plan on USB-C or Bluetooth audio.
Can I expand the storage on the Oppo F29 Pro 5G?
Not according to the official listing. OPPO India lists 128GB and 256GB fixed options with no microSD expansion mentioned (OPPO India (official listing)), so pick the storage tier that fits your photo library up front.
Is the Oppo F29 Pro 5G worth buying for heavy users?
If “heavy use” means long battery days, messy environments, and rough handling, yes — the 6,000 mAh battery, reported 80W charging, and IP69 rating match that profile (OPPO India (official listing); Ground Report (tech review)). If “heavy use” means serious photography or holding a phone for four years, the Galaxy A55’s camera system and Samsung’s update promise are stronger (GSMArena (review)).
How does the Oppo F29 Pro 5G compare to the Samsung Galaxy A55?
The F29 Pro 5G wins on water resistance (IP69 vs IP67), battery (6,000 vs 5,000 mAh), and launch pricing in India; the Galaxy A55 wins on camera versatility and software support (OPPO India (official listing); GSMArena (spec database); GSMArena (review)). Choose by your priority: survival or longevity.
The questions that matter all come back to the same fork: durability first, or longevity first.
Related reading
Two evergreen guides that pair well with a new phone: HDMI ARC if you’re connecting to a soundbar, and the RSA key explainer for anyone locking down accounts on a new device.